Tutorial: How to Upload and Stream Your Audio Files Through Your WordPress.com Blog — For Free

This post has been updated and is located here.


For those interested in taking advantage of WordPress.com’s great new audio player, but are not sure how — and/or don’t want to pay to do so — here’s one way that’s both free and easy.

Afterwards you’ll be able to do this with any .mp3 on your computer (click play):

Artist: Fugazi | Song: Waiting Room

This might not be the best way of doing things (there are plenty of places to host your files) but again — doing it this way is free, and it works*:

[Update: The player has never faulted for me, but I hear this might not be the case for everyone. Set-up also might go a little differently for Windows users during step #6. Anyhow, leave a comment if you’re trying it; hopefully I’ll know more soon. – Joe]

[Update 1/26/07: As of now, I’m no longer confidant this method is stable enough to be labeled ‘working.’ It’s obvious that Multiply doesn’t like people remotely accessing the .mp3s it hosts for free. It looks like a string randomizes the would-be static URL of the file. Hence broken links/streams/dreams. Looking for new work-arounds. Will update when found. Thanks. – Joe]

1.) Sign up at Multiply.com. I’m not affiliated with them in any way, nor do I know much about them. What I do know is they host .mp3 files for free, and I can’t find anything on their site that (yet) defines a storage cap.

2.) Once you’re done registering, go to your page (http://yourusername.multiply.com), and click where it says upload music on your music tab:

fugazi.jpg

3.) Browse your computer and choose your audio file. Click upload:

upload_multiply.jpg

4.) Once the upload is finished, go to your music page (http://yourusername.multiply.com/music).

5.) Left-click where it says ‘download’:

6.) Highlight and copy the page’s URL as your song is playing.

7.) Final steps. Get into your WordPress.com dashboard and create a new post or a new page.

8.) Select the code tab, not the visual tab.

9.) Paste the URL into the following template:

  • It should look something like this in your editor:

audio_link_code.jpg

Make sure there are no spaces anywhere — except one after the word ‘audio’.

10.) Publish and enjoy!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
| | | | | Technorati tags: audio-player, tutorial, wordpress, wordpress.com, plug-in
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

33 responses to “Tutorial: How to Upload and Stream Your Audio Files Through Your WordPress.com Blog — For Free

  1. Please leave a quick comment regarding whether or not the Fugazi song actually plays for you. I’ve been hearing it’s not foolproof for everyone and am interested to get to the bottom of it.

    I’d also like to know if you’ve had success using the player via Multiply or not, and whether my instructions were consistent to your experience setting it up.

    Thanks!

  2. Joe,

    First off, nice tutorial!

    The Fugazi song didn’t play for me. Right now I’m on a Mac and I’ve tested this in Firefox 2.0 and Safari 2.0.4. The player keeps ‘buffering’ but that’s about it.

  3. It still won’t play for me either, and a smaller file on my blog has made no difference in results.

  4. Thanks for the feedback, guys. I’ll update this post again if I hear any sturdy fixes. Some people out there are also trying to stream using Odeo, but that also seems to not be foolproof at this point.

    Just tried playing the song and now it’s giving ME the perpetual buffering treatment — when it’s always worked and I haven’t played with the code at all. Looks like the service is still pretty fritzy.

  5. Joe, I found out why the player won’t play the .mp3 file.

    You see, there’s a string in the file path:

    /song/1/2/[string]/Waiting%20Room.mp3

    This seems to be a base 64 encoded string that perhaps contains a session ID or something. This string seems to change every time, thus making the player not able to find the .mp3 file.

    I noticed this because the first time I copied the path and pasted it into the player tags, the player didn’t work at all, it kept buffering the file. When I went back to the page to check the file location to see if there was a way to ‘cheat’ the system (like taking out the string), I noticed that such string was different from the one I previously copied and pasted.

    Then, just to make sure that this string was the cause of the never ending buffering, I uploaded the file to my server where the path to the .mp3 file would be ‘static’ and voila… the player worked!

    Hope this info helps, man 😀

  6. Juan, great work tracking that — thanks. I’ve had a strong feeling it was on Multiply’s end. I thought initially along the same lines — that the code might mutate to dissuade/prevent remote access, but I didn’t notice it doing so (identical pastes), and since it was working for me, I wasn’t sure what would interfere with the stream for other people. Maybe the string doesn’t change every single time.

    Bleh. So from here it probably looks like screw Multiply. And likely most other free sites, as well, for the purposes of what I’m trying (hosted streaming for free through the WordPress player). I’ve heard Odeo might be a little more reliable through the WordPress player — but there’s five or six podcast hoops to jump through. I’ve also heard that their player works on WordPress.com, but I’m skeptical since I’ve seen a lot of code get stipped around here.

    Anyhoo. Maybe I’ll give it a shot.

  7. hi and thanks for the tutorial!
    juan: ‘I uploaded the file to my server where the path to the .mp3 file would be ’static’ and voila… the player worked!’
    juan (or joe), could you please specify which ‘server’ you uploaded the file to? i’m not an english native speaker, so it’s not clear to me which server you’re talking about (plus i’m kind of green in general when it comes to servers 🙂 )

    thanks a lot!
    carys

  8. @carys,

    When I said ‘my server’ I meant the location where I’m hosting my main blog at, which is ‘outside’ wordpress.com.

    Hope this answers your question.

  9. carys, thanks for participating. And your English is actually pretty great.

    Like Juan said, ‘his’ server functions totally separately from both WordPress.com and Multiply. While the servers for those two sites have certain restrictions regarding what kind of data can be stored and how it can be accessed, Juan’s server doesn’t play any (or as many) tricks on him.

    I just amended the top of the tutorial to reflect how it’s currently broken, but like I say there, I’ll update again when a more stable method is known. (Juan, let me know if you know?)

    Thanks again!

  10. Too bad. I really had my hopes up!

  11. I just tried here and got excited until I realized they do a similar trick switching the file’s URL after every play. grrr.

  12. Joe,

    I found a free mp3 hosting provider. They give you 10GB of space, 10GB of monthly bandwidth and an ad supported personal website with your playlists and a music player, but the good thing is that you can still link to your mp3 files from external websites.

    Once you sign up, create a playlist, then upload your song. After that, you will see a link with the name of your .mp3 file, right click on it to copy the URL and paste it into the audio tag. That’s it!

    I tested it and it works fine. Make sure your playlist is set to public, otherwise the player won’t be able to open the file.

    Oh, before I forget, the site’s URL is:
    www.musicwebtown.com

    HTH

  13. Juan, you are a rockstar. (assuming this works. 🙂 )

    I’m going to try it now.

    About your comment – my spam filter nabbed it for some reason.

  14. you replied while I was writing. Thanks! 😀

  15. It finally works! Nice job guys…

  16. Yo por mas que he intentado con varios servidores de archivos de musica y siguiendo las indicaciones que ustedes dan, aun no logro poner un archivo de audio en wordpress… ¿alguien que me pueda ayudar?

    Se los agradecere muchisimo.

  17. elelespaciodemartha, no hablo espanol muy bueno, pero yo quiero ayudar tu. Los instrucciones nuevo esto aqui. ?Problemas quedarse? Escribir una vez más, por favor. Gracias.

  18. I’ve been tearing my hair out with Odeo for ages. I tried musicwebtown and it’s worked first time…

  19. beatrizmdelgado

    WOW! Thank you!!! I’ve been looking for a website like musicwebtown for so many days!!! Thank you and thank you!!

  20. when i press download it the confirmaition required thingy is showing me not the code

  21. i dont know what to do help me
    i hate this confirmaition required help how will i take off that!!

  22. Works well for me – thanks for the blog, great resource and will recommend!

  23. Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?

    I have a blog based on the same information you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

  24. You truly constructed quite a few terrific points throughout your blog post, “Tutorial: How to Upload and Stream Your Audio Files Through Your WordPress.
    com Blog – For Free | the status joe”. I am going to be returning
    to your page shortly. Thanks ,Jayme

  25. I don’t write a leave a response, but I read through some remarks on this page Tutorial: How to Upload and Stream Your Audio Files Through Your WordPress.com Blog – For Free | the status joe. I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind. Is it only me or does it give the impression like a few of the remarks come across like they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional social sites, I would like to follow anything new you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls of all your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  26. If you wish to study how you can construct gorgeous and exquisite cartoon
    animations, develop top quality 3d animations and
    in addition produce them into cartoon animation movies, then follow this url to the top.
    With this app, you can listen to the true voices and sounds from ‘The Simpsons’ or opt to pay attention to your
    own music inside background when you play this
    arcade-style game. You could also catch hold of 25
    HD channels simply pay $29.

  27. In July, 1887, a credit application was heard inside Clermont Warden’s Court for a reef claim 200 yards west of Hurley’s Dam, as
    well as the ‘Telegram’ states:. Scores of reefs are lying idle in Queensland from which tremendous yields were
    obtained nearby the surface, but that have been abandoned for want
    of capital. On the Early days of the Peak Downs Field from
    “The Peak Downs Telegraph”.

  28. Green Pure Green Coffee Extract helps dissolve free radicals.

    The difference in each-black, white, oolong or green
    tea-is due to their. Green tea, it is an all natural way to
    lose weight.

  29. I have read a few excellent stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for
    revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you put to create any such fantastic informative web site.

  30. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Regardless, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  31. It’s amazing to pay a quick visit this web page and reading the views of all mates about this article, while I am also keen of getting familiarity.

  32. This piece of writing is genuinely a fastidious one it helps new web viewers, who are wishing for blogging.

  33. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding
    more. Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

